Medium Curated All My Python Programming Articles

Cher Hin Chong
5 min readApr 30, 2022

There is always contentment when producing content.

Image by Karolina Grabowska from Pixabay

This article is written more for sharing my Medium experience with other Medium writers. We authors want to know how Medium works because we are part of them as their content creators.

I published my first Medium article on Mar 23. I have written 14 articles as of today Apr 30. 5 of the articles are about life lessons. The rest are a series of ongoing articles with the subtitle “Python Programming Made Easy”.

Some of my articles were circulated to friends and acquaintances to read and provide feedback. My articles were also circulated to my Udemy students who were enrolled in my Python Programming online course. It started some “following” from my Udemy students who wanted to continue to learn more from reading further articles on Python Programming.

I read about articles being curated by Medium. I thought to myself …. Hmmm …. My Udemy course on Python Programming was curated by Udemy after 1 year being on the Udemy platform. So it should take quite a while before my articles get curated by Medium. I have to be patient, is what I told myself.

But I was totally wrong. 10 out of 14 articles I posted were curated. The common denominator of the articles that were curated — they are all articles on Python Programming with the exception of one article.

These are the 10 curated articles:

Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author
Image by Author

As a software developer by profession, it immediately crosses my mind that the curation process is highly likely to be done by software rather than by human because the curation was reflected within an hour or two of my publishing the article. It has yet to be proven to be so though.

Python programming is a much searched subject — probably not just on Medium but also on the wider reach of Google. Yes — under “Stats -> External Referrals”, Google and many other external sources appear for my Python Programming articles but not for my non-Python articles.

The subtitles of my Python articles are “Python Programming Made Easy”. Yes, it is meant to be as easy to understand as possible. This follows the same title that I gave to my online Python course on Udemy.

Writing textbook-like articles on technicalities like programming requires simple and lucid language usage. Technical subjects have their own jargon empire so technical writers go for keeping everything else simple.

My opinion is that it is more likely that they were curated because Python articles provide more concrete knowledge. Articles on life lessons, on the other hand, are more subjective than objective. Well …. yes and no.

Anyway, the performance figures with regard to eyeballs for my curated articles aren’t that impressive at all. Only time will tell though. It probably takes a while to see a fuller picture emerge. It will be a long long road ahead.

As the saying goes, “Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations.” Let this be an encouragement to all Medium authors. We all share the fervor of writing where we know fairly well that writing will not make us rich in wealth but it will make us richer in understanding the world around us and enrich our life in ways that wealth can’t.

My original intention of getting on the Medium bandwagon is because it is so difficult for me to get a book published by a traditional publisher. So the next best avenue to speak to the world is to pen my thoughts on Medium.

Many of what I write on Medium will come from my original thoughts on what I wanted to pen down in a book on life lessons.

I have hated YouTube recently for one particular reason — it has become a relentless ad-feeding machine. Good that YouTube now has the YouTube Premium option. Medium’s advocate for ad-free (with paywall) has been something that I think is good.

I like to teach what I know best. The dissemination of knowledge gives me a special kind of joy. That is why and how I started creating my first online course on Udemy two years ago. It has been a long path from zero ratings to over 4,700 ratings from 19,000 students.

I am also sharing my journey on Udemy with everyone in my multipart series of articles “Making It As A Udemy Instructor : My 5-figure Income Recipe”. As at the date of this writing, I have published Part 1 and Part 2.

A course creator takes months to produce a course. Writing articles is purely scripting. Producing courses is scripting plus producing.

Here is the link to my online course “Python Programming Made Easy”:

In the meantime …. Cheers everyone and especially to fellow writers!

Success is when the journey itself is just as joyful as the achievement of our destination.

--

--

Cher Hin Chong

A software developer who has found the penchant for writing. Without writers, there will be no readers.